Show simple item record
dc.description.abstractlmenti south District is located in Eastern Province along latitudes ·o0 - 5' 60 N and Longitude 37° 40' 0 E. It is one of the Districts carved out of the former Meru Central District. The district borders Meru Central District to the North, Tharaka District to the East, Meru South District to the South, and Mount Kenya forest and Laikipia East District to the West. The District covers an area of 823 square kilometers. It is subdivided into six (6) administrative divisions namely Nkuene, Abogeta East, Abogeta West, lgoji East and lgoji West. lmenti South District covers one constituency namely, south lmenti Constituency. There are twelve civic wards in the constituency. Most of the population lives in the rural areas which are highly productive. However, there are pockets of high population density especially in the towns of Nkubu and Mitunguu. The major town in the district· is Nkubu town which is the district headquarters. The other towns are Mitunguu and Kanyakine. Mt. Kenya is the single most important physical feature that has influenced the natural conditions in the district. It is one of the tributaries to Tana River which supports the hydropower generation. The river supports irrigated agriculture, fisheries, livestock production and biodiversity conservation in the lower Tana Basin and is thus strategic to Kenya's economic development…en_US
dc.publisherGovernment of Kenyaen_US
dc.relation.ispartofseriesDevelopment Plan 2008-2012;
dc.subjectEconomic Developmenten_US
dc.subjectFiscal Planningen_US
dc.subjectResource Mobilizationen_US
dc.subjectNatural Resourcesen_US
dc.subjectSustainable Developmenten_US
dc.titleImenti South District Development Plan 2008-2012en_US
dc.typeDevelopment Planen_US
ppr.contributor.authorMinistry of State for Planning, National Development and Vision 2030en_US

Files in this item


This item appears in the following Collection(s)

Show simple item record